Your Ad Here

Wednesday, December 27, 2006

Identity Theft Task Force Seeks Public Comment

The U.S. Federal Identity Theft Task Force, chaired by Attorney General Alberto Gonzales and co-chaired by Federal Trade Commission Chairman Deborah Platt Majoras, is seeking public comment on ways to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of federal government efforts to reduce identity theft.

The public comments on these issues will supplement the research and analysis being conducted, provide further information about the proposals being considered, and identify areas where additional recommendations may be warranted.

The Task Force was established by an executive order by President Bush on May 10.

The executive order directed the task force to develop a coordinated strategic plan to combat identity theft, and to recommend ways to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of the federal government's activities in the areas of identity theft awareness, prevention, detection, and prosecution.

Eighteen federal agencies are participating in the task force. The solicitation for public comment is available through the task force Web site.

Comments must be filed on or before Friday, Jan. 19, 2007.

Copies of the documents mentioned in this release are available from the FTC's Web site and from the FTC's ConsumerResponse Center, Room 130, 600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20580. Call toll-free: 1-877-FTC-HELP.

Bookmark and drop back in sometime.

Enter your Email

Preview Powered by FeedBlitz



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home